General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

heel-toe practice

Old 08-03-2007, 04:08 AM
heel-toe practice

hi guys, i have been enjoying my little fit for about 4 months now. The fit as my first stick shift car, it has been a lot fun driving it. From practicing 1st gear to 1st to 2nd gear, now i dont stall my car anymore. I try to have my gear shifting as smooth as possible. When it comes to the situation where i need to make a sharp turn coming from a higher speed, i found it is really inconvenient without this technique called "heel and toe". so i started practing this technique whenever i need to slow the car down downshifting. i'm 6ft tall wear size 11 shoes, i found it is really hard for me doing the heel-toe motion, because when the clutch and the brake are pushed down, my thigh are pushed together because the clutch and brake are so close to each other, i dont really have anymore room for that heel rolling to gas pedal and push down action. i even tried it without wearing my shoes but it is still not much room that i can move my foot around. my friend had told me to step on the brake at higher position, but my toe hit the top which make it even harder to drive. i felt really bad for my fit, it is such a good car, but the owner CAN'T drive...haha. any tips will be much appreciated

Old 08-03-2007, 05:17 AM
you just need practice, it was hard for me to do it in the fit at first because the pedals were so sensitive,but i can do it perfectly now. use the ball of your foot to step on the brakes then just roll your foot and blip the throttle. don't use your actual heel and toe, but use your left and right side of your foot. and practice every chance you get!!

Old 08-03-2007, 05:27 AM
5 Year Member
I fond it alot easier after I got some after market pedals. you don't have to use your actual toes and heel; you can just use the inside of your right foot for the break and the outer part of you right foot to "blip" the gas.

Old 08-03-2007, 06:37 AM