General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

+MPG via CAI?

Old 08-23-2009, 02:26 AM
5 Year Member
+MPG via CAI?

With the way I drive and the almost 50/50 city/hw driving I do, I'm getting an average of 36.2 mpg in my first four tanks since purchase of my Fit. I'm wondering if I can add to that via a CAI.

When I owned a Mini Cooper S, I decided to install a CAI for performance purposes. In fact, it cost me forty bucks for a kit by Spectre (a company that advertises their products in American-made muscle cars) at my local Shucks. I didn't notice mileage changes because I was a more aggressive driver then. I *did* notice the surprising +9 horsepower gain tho.

Now I am driving rather economically. Granted, I need to cut out my jackrabbit starts but hey, I gotta have fun sometimes.

So anyone notice any positive or negative impacts to your fuel economy after a CAI install? I don't know how much better it could get, as it seems my intake is already sucking in cold air, as a tube runs to edge of the engine bay.

Old 08-23-2009, 02:32 AM
5 Year Member
colder air means more fuel. so theoretically itd mean less mpg. yet people will go on and on all day about how they doubled and tripled their mileage when they installed a cai and axleback. LOL

Old 08-23-2009, 02:40 AM
spoon fed
5 Year Member
colder air doesnt mean more fuel. colder air means more oxygen molecules which in turn makes the motor run a little hotter and leaner but not enough to notice.

cold air intake will help with power and possibly 1 or 2 mpg better but dont count on it. the oem system is already a cold air intake so you wont really improve on that much at all. all the power is found in the top end when installing such parts which lowers mpg's.

Old 08-23-2009, 02:54 AM
5 Year Member
the colder the intake air temp, the more fuel the engine gives it to compensate.

thats why the real hypermilers use warm or hot air intakes

Old 08-23-2009, 03:03 AM
spoon fed
5 Year Member