General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Optimum RPM for mad MPG

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2006, 09:13 PM
Optimum RPM for mad MPG

Does anyone know what the optimum RPM would be to get the best MPG? I would assume that it would be about 3200 RPM, just before the VTEC kicks in.

Does anyone with more knowledge about the VTEC have any insite?

Thanks in advance

Old 07-26-2006, 10:18 PM
I asked the question on another thread: At what speed does the FIT achieve maximum MPG? I'm no expert, but wouldn't each RPM use the same amount of gas? Then the more RPMs, the more gas you use. There has to be a speed where the distance traveled for each RPM is maximized. Above that speed you use more gas per mile traveled. Below that speed you're not traveling far enough for the gas being used.

Old 07-27-2006, 12:41 AM
This may not answer your question, but it is good info about the engine's specs: http://asia.vtec.net/Series/FitJazz/lseries/index.html

Old 07-27-2006, 12:51 AM
I thought about doing some tests to determine this, but it depends on a lot of factors....Gas brand selection, throttle input, wind conditions and road conditions, etc. GENERALLY, you can assume the lower the rpm, the less gas you use, but I know of some cars that achieve the optimum balance of power and mileage at like 3k rpm or 3.5. Anyone else know more?

In my own experience, freeway traveling, the best I've gotten on Cali gas was 34 MPG, and i think i set the cruise control to 80 exactly, on my Sport Auto. It would take a lot more input from other people to determine a precise answer, and it will be difficult for this to not turn into yet another "WHAT IS YOUR MILEAGE!@?!@" thread, but lets see if anyone knows the answer to the original question

Tre

Old 07-27-2006, 02:27 AM
An indicator light connected to the Vtec??? OK??