General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

How to determine Fit generations at a glance

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2015, 05:44 PM
5 Year Member
How to determine Fit generations at a glance

It is pretty easy for me to identify third generation Fits sold in the USA at a glance because of the distinctive Volvo style tail lights and the sleeker headlights, but I'm still a novice when it comes to differentiating a 1st and 2nd generation Fit.

So far I'm thinking that the 1st generation can be identified by the smaller side triangular window near the windshield.

And I'm thinking that the 2nd generation window in the same position is somewhat larger.

Am I right on these points?

If anyone has any better tips for spotting differences at a glance, I'd like to know about them. By a glance, I mean momentarily seeing them on a highway or I'm passing by as they are parked.

Old 05-16-2015, 09:00 PM
5 Year Member
It's not about spelling out their differences.
If you are familiar with both, you know how to tell them apart.

It's kind of telling apart a hamburger from a fish sandwich. Noone would try to explain how they are different.

If you can't tell them apart by looking at them, you would have to look at the vin code and if it starts with the GD3, it's a first generation, if with the GE8, it's the second gen.

Old 05-16-2015, 10:18 PM
5 Year Member

nice.....

Old 05-16-2015, 10:23 PM
For the first and second generation, I find the outside rear view mirror mounts to be a good tell-tale. The first generation has body-colored mounts that sprout up diagonally, kind of like a little tree branch. The second generation has black ones that are more flat.

The deep swoopy crease down the side of the 3rd generation is another obvious distinction between it and the others.

Old 05-17-2015, 06:20 PM