Other Car Related Discussions Discuss all other cars here.

1988 CRX Si Performance?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 06:08 AM
1988 CRX Si Performance?

I have been enjoying my USDM 1988 CRX Si for almost twenty years. It continues to be economical to operate, easy on gas, and thrilling to drive. Heck, it was Motor Trend's Import Car of the Year!

I would like to hear from a few Fit owners if they feel that the USDM 2007 Fit Sport with Manual Transmission is a car worthy enough to replace my venerable 1988 CRX Si.

The critial specs on my current CRX include:

0-60: 8.2 secs
MPG: 33 avg.
Weight: ~2020lbs.
No Back Seat

Do you all think it would be worth waiting to see if Honda puts out an Si version of the Fit in the US market? Or would it be better to just buy a Japanese-made 2007 model and modify it up to CRX Si performance standards before Honda gets a chance to ruin the Fit in the US market like it did with the Civic? Or do you think I should wait out the long haul to see what Honda will do with the new A-VTEC?

Enquiring minds want to know!

Honda leaves me little choice as they only sell the 2007 Civic Type R in Europe, and they don't even offer a hatchback Civic in the US at this time!

I figure with a new timing belt and a few other parts my CRX could last another 10 years. I don't need to buy a new car right this minute...

After looking at the Mazda Speed3 I just couldn't justify buying a new car that only gets 20/28 MPG and further ruin my hippie reputation with the gratuitous bling of 18" tires that will be expensive to replace over the years. Not to mention those faulty engine mounts...

The Fit is clearly economical and ecologically sustainable. But is it sporty enough for me? This is a critical element of the perfect balance in a car in my humble opinion... otherwise I will not enjoy driving it.

Old 03-16-2007, 08:12 AM
Wouldn't a test drive be alittle easier than writing all that :D

Old 03-16-2007, 08:22 AM
Originally Posted by outlawhonda