1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Thinking about new rims

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2012, 06:29 PM
Thinking about new rims

I've never been much of a rims person, but the plastic rims covers on my base '08 Fit have been really scraped up by curbs. My tires are now low and I figure that this might be a good time to think about also getting new rims that look nice and won't be scraped up as easily as the current plastic ones. I like the look of the simple 5, 6 or 7 spoke rims. As a complete newbie to the world of rims, are there things I should know about getting rims before I just go out to Craigslist or eBay or the marketplace here and put my money on a set?

thanks!

Old 09-14-2012, 10:19 PM
Originally Posted by fittingaround
I've never been much of a rims person, but the plastic rims covers on my base '08 Fit have been really scraped up by curbs. My tires are now low and I figure that this might be a good time to think about also getting new rims that look nice and won't be scraped up as easily as the current plastic ones. I like the look of the simple 5, 6 or 7 spoke rims. As a complete newbie to the world of rims, are there things I should know about getting rims before I just go out to Craigslist or eBay or the marketplace here and put my money on a set?

thanks!
The plastic things are called "wheel covers" or "hub caps." The inner metal thing that the tire actually is put on is the wheel or rim. If all you're looking to replace is the wheel cover, there's not a whole lot to that other than buying a new set that's the right diameter—15 inch for the base. You might be able to find some that don't stick out quite so much as the stock ones. (Do be aware that wheel covers with large openings will of course let the underlying steel wheel show through.) There's nothing other than aesthetics that requires the use of wheel covers at all; they serve no functional purpose on the car.