1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Can you check your OEM air filter please?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2009, 08:59 PM
Can you check your OEM air filter please?

Can you check the green (input) side of the air filter to see if it is oily?

I'd appreciate it.

Mine is and I don't know if it came that way or if something is wrong. I've never heard of filters being oiled until researching this topic. Apparently K&N is famous for this. I want to know if the OEM Honda filter uses this approach too.

Before I take it to the dealer I want to get more info.

Thanks

Old 04-05-2009, 10:19 PM
I am a honda tech and have noticed the samething, I would say its normal. I just put my cold air intake on so checked my stock filter since it was in my basement. It is to dirty to notice any oil, but the way the dirt is stuck on certain spots seams like it had oil on it. I wouldnt be surprised if honda does this to factory installed filters for brake in period on the new engine. Its all those little things that make honda engines run for so long lol. If it was engine oil you would know, would most likely be running like crap lol.

Last edited by FITTECH; 04-05-2009 at 10:23 PM.
Old 04-05-2009, 10:31 PM
Originally Posted by FITTECH
I am a honda tech and have noticed the samething, I would say its normal. I just put my cold air intake on so checked my stock filter since it was in my basement. It is to dirty to notice any oil, but the way the dirt is stuck on certain spots seams like it had oil on it. I wouldnt be surprised if honda does this to factory installed filters for brake in period on the new engine. Its all those little things that make honda engines run for so long lol. If it was engine oil you would know, would most likely be running like crap lol.
thanks man, much appreciated

er... the sexist in me assumed you're a dude

Old 04-06-2009, 12:53 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by FITTECH