1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

2008 fit sport wont stay on... please help

Old 04-30-2017, 10:04 PM
2008 fit sport wont stay on... please help

Hi,

I'm no mechanic but I like to do my own work on cars, partly on costs and I like to see how things work. I'll try to summarize my issue and focus on the important details as much as possible. My gf accidentally put in diesel into the tank a few weeks ago and I was able to drain and clean the fuel system as best as I could by searching on fitfreak and other sources on how to go about it. My issue now is even if I can get the car to run it wont stay running longer than a few seconds. Before I was able to get the car to start by using starter fluid and it would idle perfectly. Then the more I used the starter fluid the rougher the idle became until It wouldn't start at all even with the starter fluid. I'm assuming it has something to do with the ecm/pcm or sensors telling the ecm/pcm to shut down as a failsafe. I've bought a new battery 151r, adjusted valves, changed fuel pump, changed relay, but nothing helps. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Im trying to avoid taking it to the shop. Thanks in advance

Old 04-30-2017, 10:53 PM
5 Year Member
First, have you completely removed all traces of diesel from the tank, lines, rail and injectors? (if not, that's a problem by itself)

Assuming fuel system has been cleaned thoroughly and is ok, I'd next suspect the cat has been clogged with soot.....Remove the primary O2 (AF) sensor from the pipe and see if that allows it to start and idle (probably won't do much above idle but it will be a clue you're dealing with clogged exhaust).

If it ran that way..... Then disconnect the first exhaust pipe from the header (manifold) and see if it can run with full power and reach rev limit RPM..

Old 05-01-2017, 08:13 AM
5 Year Member
How do the spark plugs look?