1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Same car, two shops, 2 different alignment readings

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2017, 11:46 AM
5 Year Member
Same car, two shops, 2 different alignment readings

I had my alignment checked by place where I bought my tires:

The "before" out of tolerance toe reading, according to them, was due to the steering wheel "not centered for the measurement"
Second reading was taken few days later at the different shop (Just Tires)
Look on the rear readings!!!

I could imagine how many alignment stations are out of alignment (nice pun) themselves!

Old 10-10-2017, 01:28 PM
5 Year Member
An even more interesting data point would be to take the same car back to the same shop and have a different technician use the same machine. As a mechanical engineer, I've never been convinced that these readings are at all repeatable. I'd be interested to know statistically how repeatable they actually are.

Old 10-10-2017, 01:58 PM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
yah alignment is tricky. i only take my cars to this privately owned alignment shop that i trust. they do race cars and exotics too so they have the alignment rack embedded into the floor. it is very cool as my cars in the past rode very low and most regular folk alignment shops could not get my car on their rack.

for a fit, including my wife's GK, who cares. as long as the steering wheel is pretty straight and it tracks straight it's fine. only the front toe is adjustable anyway.

Old 10-11-2017, 09:37 AM
5 Year Member
Align Your Car With SmartStrings, SmartCamber | Smart Racing Products

I refuse to fight with alignment shops and sloppy techs anymore. The $449 may give sticker shock to some, but mine has easily paid for itself in the past two years and will only continue to.

It's even compact enough to use in a single car garage (if you're flexible!).

Old 10-12-2017, 01:37 AM
5 Year Member