2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buying a 2012 Fit - Sport or Base, and OTD price?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2011, 11:50 PM
Buying a 2012 Fit - Sport or Base, and OTD price?

My husband and I have been talking about buying a Fit for several months now. He currently uses a Vespa scooter to commute, but it's time to upgrade to a car for him (I drive a Honda CR-V). The Fit seems like the perfect choice - affordable, great reviews, lots of room if needed. So we're quite excited!

Anyways, we are having a hard time figuring out the differences between the Sport and Base. What are the benefits of getting the Sport? For a mainly commuter car, is the Base the way to go?

Secondly, we're trying to figure out what OTD price we should be aiming for. We're in CA, so sales tax is 7.75%, which adds quite a bit to the price. We've got a quote for 2012 Base automatic for $19108 OTD, and for a 2012 Sport automatic for $21003 OTD. Both of those seem quite high, so I'm hoping we can negotiate down. However, I know the Fit is in high demand, so I'm not sure how much room we have. We don't have a trade-in, and we don't need to finance.

Any advice would be very appreciated - thanks!

Old 12-10-2011, 01:07 AM
I'm not a fan of comparing OTD prices. Sales tax as well as registration fees, dealer fees, tire fees, inspection fees, ect differ from state to state so it doesn't make for a good comparison.