2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The FIT has great aerodynamics... Maybe too aerodynamic.

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2015, 05:56 PM
Thumbs up The FIT has great aerodynamics... Maybe too aerodynamic.

Okay...

So many of you may have seen my post on doing my 1st road trip with only 31mpg.

Here's the other thing. I see a many of you have posted about the effects the wind has on the car. I got the same feelings and then my inner "nerd" kicked in. I have a BS degree in Aeronautical Science from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Daytona Beach, FL). The fit has super slick aerodynamics. If you look at the car from the side, it looks like the leading edge of a wing. So where am I going with this u ask? The FIT is about the same weight as a Cessna 152. It rotates/lifts off the ground at around 60kts which is almost 70mph. When my car hit about 70mph to my planned speed of 75mph, the car literally lifting off the pavement just enough for the car to "wonder". The steering gets very light because there really isnt much rubber meeting the road. Okay, I'm done. I do hope you could follow what i was telling you guys/girls. I'm a flight instructor but a pilot first. I doubt many would comment but feel free.

Old 01-06-2015, 07:46 PM
That's an interesting analysis, but I think it's not correct.