2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Valve checks

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2018, 12:48 PM
Valve checks

hey all, name is Eric, new 2 nd gen owner. Question about valve checks. I keep reading 60k miles in here. Where does this recomendation come from? I am getting conflicting info from dealers. One says never, one says only when we do the timing belt at 160 000 kms( seeing as its a chain does that mean never lol). I know i toasted a valve on my element because i went 300k without checking the valves so not debating the need for the check just looking for Oem supported data.

i’ve also had some interesting conversations with dealers re: the maintenance minder. One says ignore it and do 6 months because it doesnt know if you are in normal or severe conditions ( actually it does but hey what do I know.... I’m just an aircraft maintence engineer, not a 22 year old service advisor). Also, synthetic every 6 monts.... please.
The other guy made more sense, light or one year, whichever comes first.

i gotta say, i’m pretty disapointed at the general incompetence of honda dealers around here ( not that i would EVER bring my car to a dealer anyway).

Thoughts?

Old 01-21-2018, 02:32 PM
5 Year Member