2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Transmission and milage issues - help?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2018, 11:54 PM
Transmission and milage issues - help?

Long story short, I bought a 2011 Fit Sport w/ an auto transmission. I'm new to all this and am not a mechanic. Two issues:

1) It seems like it goes right thru first gear nearly instantly and thus ends up bogging down 2nd and 3rd. I can use the paddle to downshift and it has the power there, but yeah, with no paddle you barely get any 1st gear.

2) I'm only getting 25mpg instead of what I see is the average, 35mph.

Any ideas on these? Where to start?

Old 02-08-2018, 04:25 AM
5 Year Member
Have the transmission fluid and filter ever been changed?

Old 02-08-2018, 09:56 AM
Not that I know of. I really don't know too much history on the car, and I haven't done anything to it myself yet since I don't have a garage and it's been cold as hell here in WV.

Old 02-08-2018, 12:42 PM
5 Year Member
I think that all automatics are programmed to up-shift ASAP for fuel economy ratings.
Accelerate hard (pedal down to floor) from a stop and see if it revs higher in the first gear. (NEVER DO THIS WITH A COLD ENGINE!!!)
If you drive civilized, then it will always up-shift right away.

When it warms up outside, pop the hood and look at your AT dip stick for the colour of the fluid.
If red = OK.
If brown = time for fluid change.
If black = good luck with that one!

Also here's a long list of conditions that will significantly reduce your mileage from the 35 mpg average:

1) "it's been cold as hell here in WV":
* cold air is more dense than warm air, so it's literally harder to drive through it.
* the engine will need much longer to warm up, burning more fuel in the process, especially if you blast the hot air inside the car right away.