2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Maintenance minder

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2018, 06:15 PM
Exclamation Maintenance minder

HI everyone , I'm pretty new to this forum and fit's in general , just bought an imported 2012 fit ,second hand with 50,000 KM on it (i'm from New Zealand) ,
I was very keen to try using the MM for doing the maintenance on my car as i have never had a car with one , however when I cycle through the dash display I
only get total KM, Average fuel / KM , Range ,trip , I cannot get the oil life indicator .and was wondering if some models do not have this feature , or has it been disabled ,
the dealer I got it from told me to do the oil every 5,000 KM and oil and filter every 10,000 KM , I intend to do all the servicing myself as i am a mechanic of sorts .
does anyone know about this problem ?

Thanks

Old 03-17-2018, 06:53 PM
5 Year Member
I have a USA '11 Sport auto trans (in USA) and my % oil life is in the rotation when I cycle through the in-dash display.

I think you can use 0W-20 synthetic oil and I was told that my Maintenance Minder (MM) calculates % oil life according to that oil type. The MM would have me change it every 15,000 km (~9000 miles) if my conversion is correct. I think it is way too long of an interval, so I change it every ~7,000 miles (4500 km) since I do it when I see the oil life at ~15%. I live in the northeast, so snow / ice / rain play a part when I want to crawl under a car. That is way everything is approximately, which means weather dependent.

I guess I would change it more often if you use regular oil.

Welcome aboard.

Old 03-18-2018, 04:22 AM
5 Year Member