3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Cae washing advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 09:24 PM
5 Year Member
Cae washing advice

Not having owned a car since 1978, I need advice on how best to wash my new Fit.

We have a parking space with a hose for washing...do I use a mild detergent soap with a soft sponge and water rinse, or skip the soap altogether as I've seen some people say on other boards?

Thanks.

Old 07-06-2014, 09:46 PM
Super Moderator
Originally Posted by exl500
.......hose for washing.....mild detergent soap with a soft sponge and water rinse,.........
this is the techniques I've been using for the last 4 decades. LOTSA WATER!!!
Get any CAR liquid detergent from Wally's, Autozone, Costco etc..... They're all decent. Mix in the required amount into a separate bucket with water. I have been using a sheepskin wash mitt but there are many microfibres that are just as good. Soak that in the soapy bucket. Make sure your Fit is thoroughly wet.

Proceed to soap. Preferably, your doing this in the shade. If in the sunlight, then do sections with soap, stop rinse and continue. I divide the car starting from the roof, then hood, hatch, Left and right sides.

If there is thick grime, I would put your water hose on your other hand and alternate between soapy rub and the hose.

DO NOT USE HOUSEHOLD detergents especially dishwashing liquid.

Once done use lotsa water to rinse then dry off with a big cotton towel, chamois or microfibre cloth. Result - nice and clean with no hairline scratches.

Happy cleaning!!!

Old 07-06-2014, 10:15 PM
5 Year Member