3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Opinion on extended warranty purchase? Help please!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2014, 09:06 AM
Opinion on extended warranty purchase? Help please!

I just bought my new EX CVT last night and the total out the door price deal I got was $20,304, which was pretty good to me. However, low and behold when sitting and signing all the paperwork in the finance office I ended up signing for the extended warranty which is bumper to number coverage for 7yrs/100,000 miles for an extra $2,300, which I'm having major second thoughts about now.... that's a lot of extra money.

This is my first time buying a new car so I don't know if extended warranties are worth the extra investment. Please can anyone give me some much needed advice on this? I believe I can still cancel it.

Old 10-29-2014, 09:13 AM
5 Year Member
You can cancel it. Read the extended warranty contract the dealer provided and look for cancellation provisions. It will explain what the process is. If you decide to cancel, I would both email and call the finance guy that sold it to you and let him know your wanting to cancel. Email so you have a record of your intent. Call as well. Be prepared for him to try and talk you out of it. He is making a huge commission on that transaction, and will fight to protect it. He may also try and discount the warranty, just to save something of the sale. You will need to return to the dealer and re-sign your paperwork, reflecting the removal of the warranty. Don't wait, deal with it right away. Take the money you were going to spend on the warranty and put it in savings (self insure), even if you can only afford to do it a little each month.

Good luck!

Last edited by Vanguard; 10-29-2014 at 09:19 AM.
Old 10-29-2014, 09:17 AM
5 Year Member
As usual, Vanguard has excellent advice.