3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Engine Breaking MT6

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2015, 02:41 PM
Engine Breaking MT6

This is a question for the manual drivers in this forum.

After years of riding bikes and using engine breaking as a quick a easy way to shed speed. I wanted to get your opinion on doing it in a car.

To start, bikes are equipped with a wet clutch that does not wear the same as the dry clutch in a car. This enables us to do things like riding the clutch at slow speeds. Without worrying about harming the clutch plates. However in a car with a dry clutch, this is not a desirable thing, as we will burn out the plates and need to make repairs. (I am sorry if this is an overly simplistic breakdown of these two clutch types. I am not a mechanic, and only know what I have researched myself on the Interweb)

My questions is, how bad is it for me to downshift and have the engine help slow the Fit?

I find myself wanting to do this, especially going into a corner or other area where as soon as I am done slowing, I need to be in the right gear to accelerate.

FYI - I commonly apply the breaks while doing this, not only to assist the engine in slowing the vehicle, but also to let other drivers behind me know that I am indeed slowing down.

My mind tells me I should not do this, as it will create additional wear and tear on the clutch. Break pads/rotors are cheaper and easier to replace then clutch plates and springs. But I would love to know what the community at large says about it.

Old 09-08-2015, 05:27 PM
5 Year Member
Most of the time I do a rev matched downshift. Since you have experience with bikes, should be a breeze for you. As long as it's rev matched, no worry about clutch wear. Maybe I should record a video with my downshifting skills on this 6 speed manual.