3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

bike rack?!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2017, 10:33 PM
bike rack?!

Hi all! Just put a deposit down for a lovely red 2015 Fit! I pick it up on Thursday and am really excited.

Here's my issue--I'm moving about 1,000 miles in about a month. I'm shipping some of my stuff and stuffing the rest into the car--it's gonna be packed to the ceiling. I need to bring my bike with me, and definitely won't have room for it within the car.

I'm a broke student, and I am having a really hard time finding a bike rack in my budget. It seems like people don't really put trunk racks on their Fits because of the spoiler--has anyone done it? I've seen a couple Allen racks that look like they work with cars with spoilers. If I'm doing a hitch rack or a roof rack I'm out $250-$1000. Trying really hard to stay under or around $100 for this.

Thanks!

Old 06-27-2017, 06:44 AM
5 Year Member
Welcome! How exciting, a new car and a new home. I do not have a bike rack for my car, but have given it serious consideration. The Fit is a great little car -- you are going to love it. Be aware the sheet metal is thin and prone to denting. Getting a proper-fitting rack will help you avoid dents in your new car.

Old 06-27-2017, 07:53 AM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
sell the bike and get a new one after you move? or have your family help you carry it.

Old 06-27-2017, 09:02 AM
Maybe if you take the wheels off the bike you'll be able to fit it in the car with the other stuff. Having the front wheel off (in particular) makes the bike able to fit into a much thinner space since the handlebars can be parallel to the frame. If needed, you could also disassemble it a bit more without too much effort (take the handlebars off, for instance).

Old 06-27-2017, 09:08 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by roryc
Trying really hard to stay under or around $100 for this.