3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Detailed Pictures of OEM Cargo Cover

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2017, 02:09 PM
Detailed Pictures of OEM Cargo Cover

I just got my fit 2 weeks ago, and like most people I don't want to pay OEM prices for the cargo cover. I have some CAD experience and access to a 3D printer and large plotter, so I would like to look into building my own, and then posting plans and pics here. I want it to fit like the OEM one however, so if possible would someone be able to get me some pictures. Here is the list of what would be most helpful.

Top down view with a tape measure showing both width and height.
Side view with a tape measure showing height and width.
Length of lift ropes.

Thanks!

Also if anyone is curious, 2017 LX with a 6 speed in Aegean Blue. I really do love it!

Old 09-15-2017, 07:03 AM
I agree the price was steep. I paid $225 for the cover but the time to search and create other options was worth it to me or at least that's how I rationalize the purchase. It should be included with the car but hey let the "free market" determine price. It does function well and lifts when I open the hatch. I did get the dealer to throw in the cargo liner for free so I also could say I only paid about half price for the cover if I stretch the math.

Old 09-15-2017, 07:26 AM
5 Year Member
If you could fabricate the mounts that attach to the pegs, people could attach that to just about any home made cargo cover.

I didn't go so hightech when I made mine. Some foam board, aluminum curtain rods, felt, spray adhesive and about 2 hours I was able to make mine. Hardest part was getting the outline of the cover right because it's not a rectangle, there are curves to it. I made a template out of cardboard and then traced it to the foamboard. You can see the finished piece if you click my sig pic

Old 09-15-2017, 09:52 AM
5 Year Member