3rd Generation GK Specific DIY: Repair & Maintenance Sub-Forum Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself on the 3rd generation Honda Fit (GK)

Battery and "Check Charge System" on 2016 Fit

Old 01-22-2019, 06:04 PM
Battery and "Check Charge System" on 2016 Fit

I currently own and drive a 2016 Fit. I've had it since October 2015 and it currently has just over 44,000 miles on it so it's out of warranty. It's also my first car (save for the family minivan that was over a decade old when I inherited it as my first car), so I'm pretty new to what's normal and what's abnormal.

I admit that I have had times where I've forgotten to turn off a light and needed a jump start to get my car going again. However, more often, my car has died while sitting in it listening to music (usually while waiting for someone). A few weeks ago, I pulled over to handle an important phone call. I turned the engine off, but stayed on the phone for about 20 minutes talking through Bluetooth. When I went to move, the car would not start. I've also noticed that, at times, my car doesn't seem to want to start.

Then, on Friday, I drove about 20 minutes to a store (primarily at highway speeds as it was around 10-11am on a weekday). I was in the store for maybe 10-15 minutes at most. When I came out to my car, it would not start.

I was able to jump it, but I noticed that the interior dashboard lights were very dim for about half of my trip home. The car sound system was (and still is) compeletely dead; the headlights, power locks, and windows only work when the engine is running [normally, if I shut off the engine, there is a window of time where I can roll down the windows]. Now, today, a "CHECK CHARGE SYSTEM" message popped up on my dashboard.

My intial thought was that my stupidity in forgetting lights or sitting in my car for 20-30 minutes listening to music with the engine turned off shot my battery, but I'm worried it may be something more than that.