Manual or Automatic with Paddle Shifters

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2006, 11:15 PM
Manual or Automatic with Paddle Shifters

Hi everyone,
I really like the Honda fit and I need some advice on this since I don't know much about car. Some questions below might be stupid, please try to understand. Your Help will be greatly appreciated.

I know the Honda Fit Sport has 2 models
- Manual
- Automatic with Paddle Shifters.

Have have several questions:
- If you have a choice between Manual and Automatic With Paddle Shifters, which one would you choose?

- What is the Different between Pabdle Shifters & Manual?

- If the Manual and the Paddle Shifters are similiar, that means the Automatic with Paddle shifters Model give drivers choice to drive either automatic or Manual correct?

Thanks ahead.

Old 03-27-2006, 03:13 AM
Manual cars have a clutch, the Automatic is clutchless, and is easier to drive. It'll really depend on you as a driver, I mean just wait until it comes out, test drive them both, then decide. I mean if you don't know how to drive a manual, then buy one and learn it, but if you do know how to drive a manual, I don't think you'll need to even think between the two, manual is the answer.

Old 03-27-2006, 09:11 AM
Someone that spends his life on FitFreak.net
It depends if you live in bumper to bumper traffic, or not. It depends if you enjoy being part of the driving experience, or want a computer to make choices for you. It depends if you want to spend an extra 1300$ on the automatic with paddle shifters.

I’ve yet to drive an automatic with a paddle control that I like. I’ve always loved rowing my own gears, even when stuck in grid lock for a few hours. I find a true manual car has more control in bad weather, and you can force the car to start in a specific gear. I can think of other things to buy for 1300$.

I’ll be getting a manual Fit Sport. But you, the one purchasing it needs to decide what transmission to get. You’ll be the one driving it, not us.