Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Fujita Short Ram Intake Impressions

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2006, 11:31 PM
Fujita Short Ram Intake Impressions

Well I hope I don't get flammed for this post but I wanted to give my impression of the Fujita Short Ram Intake.

First of all I am not a mechanic I build & maintain computers and don't claim to know much about cars other than what feels right and what doesn't. I've owned an 93 RX7, 2 Eclipse GTS (99 & 94), and an 01 Jetta VR6. So nothing too special except for the RX7 but all pretty sportty cars. I've added performance parts here and there again nothing too complicated but I've done intakes before.

I picked up my AT NHB Fit on 11/10/06 drove it stock for a while about 1200 miles. Coming from cars with a more power I was really looking forward to getting the intake installed. The Fit is perfect for my wife & two kids other than during the week when it's just me going back and forth to work. The first 1200 + miles it seemed a little pokey but it's a little engine and it works really hard. I was also trying to break it nicely. I installed the intake on 12/10/06. It was very easy to just install but nearly impossiable to get to line up straight with the throttle body. Every night for the past three weeks I've been out in my garage messing with a little. It's kind of hard to explain it just never looked right. There is a vibration damper the bolts on to the battery post. If you follow the instructions that vibration damper pulls the intake and either doesn't come straight out from the throttle body or hits the top of the hood. Finally I had an idea to
flip the L bracket over which kind of worked. I called Fujita twice and told them about my experience and the guy just said well the fitment is really good keep playing with it and it will line up?