Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Turbo Calculation

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2008, 12:10 AM
Turbo Calculation

Since I don't have access to my computer right now (Typing near a closed Starbucks on the iPod at the airport... thumbs will be hurting!!!)... This only applies to gassers, so no one using diesels should apply this methodology

I'm going to start off by saying:
1) I don't like ricers (specifically people who modify their cars solely for looks)
2) I've been an engineer for a few years
3) I decided to start a thread on turbo sizes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Engine RPM)(Engine CID)/3456 = Volume

This volume is originally calculated for naturally aspirated engines, and is the main determination on where the turbo will spool, where the turbo will build boost, and how long you will be in usable boost. Thus turbo size. Now there's a little more easy math to do...

So for the fit, this would be...

(6000*91.2915)/3456 for 6000 RPM = Peak efficiency = 158.49
(2000*91.2915)/3456 for 2000 RPM = Minimum surge = 52.83

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now we get to plug our numbers into the ideal gas law. The ideal gas law relates volume, pressure, temperature and mass of air. see wikipedia (isn't it supposed to be spelled wikipaedia???) for more information... trust me on this... I went to lots of classes to learn this and simplify it for you.

PV = nRT

Where
P = absolute pressure (14.7 a.k.a sea level)
V = volume in CFM (the previous section)
n is the number of moles of gas (jokes anyone?)
R is a constant of 10.73 (technically, it's
ft^3 psiˇ*R^-1 lb-mol^-1 which means it just keeps going... and instead of filling up this much space with the actual calculation, I decided to write in English instead... hooray for me!)