Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Headers+Exhaust HELP needed... !

Old 09-18-2010, 04:56 AM
Headers+Exhaust HELP needed... !

Hi guys, I'm thinking of modifying my exhaust + headers. I'm new to modifying performance wise so can you guys help me which part i need to make this modification work?

Headers : what parts do i need? i know i need the header itself... the "mid-pipe", the cat (although i heard that the stock is fine too).. what else?

Exhaust : The exhaust is just bolted onto the mid-pipe right? oh and the hangers clips hang onto the car? correct?

lol.. please don't flame me too much for being too newb.. haha, some good advice would be much appreciated! Thanks

Ps: also note which header+exhaust system that are known for working best on the jazz.. or fit. I'm in australia so i have a jazz. L13A.

Old 09-18-2010, 05:09 AM
Sorry one more thing, I am not looking after cheap replicas or aftermarket products.. Something trustworthy, genuine and strong. Also i'm not looking for a exhaust system which is going to wake the whole town up. Perth is a small town, and the polices over here is pretty strict about how loud your engine is.. I'm just looking for a deep sound which isnt too overexaggerated.. thanks guys

Old 09-21-2010, 10:36 AM
5 Year Member
your exhaust consists of 4 parts:
header
cat pipe
mid-pipe/b-pipe
muffler/axel back.

header: really not bad, but it is rather restrictive at the collector. all runners meet and have to exit throught a 2" exit, rather small if you ask me. and im sure the flow characteristics can be better.

cat-pipe: no, sotck is not good. the pipe itself is about 1.25-1.5" inside diameter and the cat is very restrictive. there is nothing good about it, lol.

mid-pipe: same diameter as the cat pipe, very restrictive, about 1.5" inside diameter. most exhaust systems you see advertised DO NOT include this section and are just axel back sections.