Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

High lift camshafts & high comp pistons

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2013, 09:55 AM
5 Year Member
High lift camshafts & high comp pistons

Hi everyone, this is my very first post and i it would be very nice if you could help me a bit by answering my questions.
I'm a newbie and i own a 2010 GE8 and i want to get more power out of the l15a7 unit. However i dont want to swap the engine nor turbo it. So far i've made various mods to the engine such as cold air intake, changed most of the exhaust system, put a piggyback, P&P and blueprint the engine.
Now if want to mod the camshaft and change the pistons.

I'm interesteed by cams made by JUN, Bisimoto and Cat cams.
First of all, i daily drive my car (not that much now) and i do track days(more and more).
I expect to rev the car to around 8k.

Frankly i really dont know what to install in my car.
Its either going to be the Level 3 bisimoto camshaft or Jun re-grind or maybe the 290 / 272° cams made by Cat cams.

Has anyone tried one of these yet?
And also i want to use high compression pistons, what compression is best for this setup? (95 oktan is the highest i can get where i live..)

Thank you

Old 03-14-2013, 11:21 AM
5 Year Member
Check out the racing section in the forums there is a discussion about high lift cams. I would also ask DAM about cams and other useful info in your pursuit for more power. Also in the high lift discussion there are links about why re-grinds are not good compared to cast ones.

Old 03-14-2013, 12:25 PM
Retired Moderator
5 Year Member
i would love to see something done for the l15 head

Old 03-14-2013, 01:02 PM
You have already pulled, disassembled, mic'd and rebuilt the motor to blueprint as well as separated, disassembled, ported and polished the head?

Old 03-14-2013, 01:47 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by DiamondStarMonsters