Fit Freak Newbie / FAQs New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted. FAQs will also be answered here.

Need to repair door latch assembly

Old 07-16-2018, 04:58 PM
5 Year Member
Need to repair door latch assembly

Greetings to All.
Fresh Newbie here. I'll introduce myself later but I need help ASAP.
I have a 2011 Fit Sport and the driver-side passenger suddenly wouldn't open at all. Many thanks to another member for posting a video of his struggle to get his door open. His final solution was rather ingenious! Search for "door latch jammed" to find his video from June 2017, or on Youtube search Honda Fit door latch $5 and you should find it.

Well I got my door open and removed the power latch/lock assembly. I opened the assembly and, after a lot of study you don't want to read about, discovered that my problem was a small broken spring that was keeping the mechanism from unlocking. This assembly from a dealer will be about $300 & they have to order it. After shipping, I won't save much online. If I could just get a replacement spring I think I could restore the unit to full operation. Of course that's not available from Honda nor is any help to find specs on the spring so I could search spring manufacturers if a stock item exists. I've called salvage yards for used parts to no avail.

I REALLY need to fix MY WIFE'S CAR ASAP! Any help will be appreciated and in return I'll be available to share professional advice on hanging draperies, blinds, heavy pics/mirrors, etc,

Thanks a million,
install4you
Birmingham, AL

Old 07-17-2018, 11:23 AM
5 Year Member
Hi,

I have encountered the exact same issue, with the spring "finger" broken off the end of the spring in the bottom of the latch mechanism, and therefore unable to contact the part it was supposed to touch. Mine was the rear left door.