Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

Upgrade Stock HU (literally)

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2010, 10:38 AM
Upgrade Stock HU (literally)

So, from what I've read, the stock HU in the fit is on the low end of OEM stereos, mainly due to a noisy amplifier chips and low quality DACs. Has anyone looked into how feasible it is to just replace these chips? I'm an engineer, so I'm not afraid of tearing apart electronics and replacing components, but I am afraid of wasting a weekend to find out that they are coated in urethane under a riveted box (i.e. not accessible).

If the stereo only outputs 12-bit digital to the DACs, then I can only get a better 12-bit DAC, so the gain there is probably marginal. But amplifier chips on the other hand are analog in, analog out with power, so I can put something together even if I can't find a better chip with the exact same pinout.

I don't want an aftermarket HU at this point purely because I don't have that kind of money. I'd have a lot more fun and only spend $10-20 replacing ICs. Plus it makes me feel like a big man

Any advice, assistance is welcome. Bonus points if someone has a dead HU or some good pics of the circuit boards!

Old 05-29-2010, 12:58 PM
I've never looked into it, but it's a very interesting idea . . . If it were something you were willing to do as a service, I think there's a definite market for it - people wanting to keep their stock HU for stealth reasons but want a cleaner output to their speakers and/or amp & sub.

My stock GD head unit is sitting on a shelf in my closet right now, if I get a chance this weekend I'll unscrew a panel or two and see what's easily accessible.

Old 05-30-2010, 12:04 PM
I took apart my old Aiwa stereo because I didn't feel like mowing yet, and here's what I found. All the good bits come in TQFP packages, except for one which is the rectangular version. This what there is: