Lowering spring Install DIY help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2007, 03:43 PM
5 Year Member
Lowering spring Install DIY help!

To all my fellow fit owners in FL - I'm looking into getting lowering springs, just something with a mild drop, maintaining decent ride, and mostly for aesthetics. I can't justify coilovers - I don't plan on tracking the car, nor I do have the financial means for such a setup.
I have little to no experience with suspension, other then the old hockey puck tricks for lifting 4x4s, which is totally hick and not the safest way to go about it but my old ride was more for mud then the road, and it was fun, for a time. but I digress...

Anyway, I know everyone says lowering springs are relatively easy, but I've never done it, and I just don't know where to start. Regardless of the relative ease this can be done, there just seems like there's enough in it that could go wrong or I could mistaken do, that I'm not confident to undertake it.

I've made a similar post in the main suspension forum, but I thought I'd post here to to focus in on the regional folks...

So, if anyone can make some recommendations for springs, that'd be great, and if anyone out there would be willing to help, that'd be awesome. I have jack stand, a hydraulic lift, but no spring compressor (loan from autozone) and a decent array of wrenches and tools. I think I have the means of doing this but not the adequate "way" as it is.

I'd be willing to drive within reasonable distance (if you live in the Keys, for example I doubt that'll work) to you, and I can make some compensation for your time and help, maybe pizza/food, booze, fuel, whatever?

I can easily get to a shop and have them install it 100 bucks+ knowing its done right, but I'm thinking it'd be beneficial/fun/inexpensive to learn for myself.