Grounding Wire Kits - How's it worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2007, 09:17 AM
5 Year Member
Grounding Wire Kits - How's it worth it?

Being an electrician, I know the importance of grounding. I was planning on putting together a grounding wire system for my Honda Fit. I can put together a system for much cheaper (and using custom wire paths, and colors of insulation) using appropriately gauged cable. However, I first decided to take some baseline resistance measurements to see how well the grounding systems works from the factory.

The following measurements were take from the battery to the location mentioned. Note, 0 ohms is continuity.

Negative (-) battery terminal to...
  • Exhaust manifold - 0 ohms
  • Engine - 0 ohms
  • Radiator support - 0 ohms
  • Left Inner Fender - 0 ohms
  • Right Inner Fender - 0 ohms
  • Metal holding the driver's side rear taillight - 0 ohms

***Note - I ran an 8' long wire clamped to the metal near the taillight housing to near the battery, that way my Fluke meter's leads would be able to reach... This way also - the electrical path was effectively DOUBLED.

RESULTS - the Honda Fit is very well grounded from the factory; an aftermarket grounding wire kit is unnecessary.

Perhaps those connections may degrade over the years, and I'll replace the factory grounding wires. But for now - there is no benefit.

Some websites/manufacturers would have you believe that a grounding wire kit is an easy power upgrade. Not so. Just take the following quote:
When you replace your stock grounding wires with the SCO grounding cables, don't be surprised if you notice increased torque, better gas mileage, quicker throttle response, more starting power, a smoother idle, and better sound from your stereo. Best of all, you only spent about 50 bucks and less than an hour to get all those benefits. Source: SportCompactOnly.com