CarPuter

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2008, 05:55 PM
CarPuter

Hi guys, this is going to be my "introduction" post as I'll be putting on the table my Carputer project. As for me, I'm an electronics technician working in the maritime business, I've been working for a while on "small sized" computers.
I own my 2008 TW Fit Sport for 3 months now and I'm more than satisfied! That's why I'm confortable in investing in such pratictal and economical Car.
I'm planning to use one small computer to put it in my Fit. I've got many ideas which I think are all possible.

First, I bought the double DIN rack for the Fit:
http://cgi.ebay.ca/2007-Honda-Fit-Sp...2em118Q2el1247

I'm planning on putting this motorised LCD:
http://www.cartft.com/catalog/il/730
Since it won't "expose" the big 7" screen while I'll be parked in some "risky" places. And it can still be used even if my carputer's not there (in the winter, by -40deg C). It'll aslo leave me a spot for the pocket storage supplied with the kit, adding more storage for CDs in my Fit, since the JDM center console is still too expensive. The only downside is no DVD/CD Drive, I might find a workaround sometime soon.

As for the PC itelsf, here's the casing and power supply that I'll use (not this "Ebay" one since I've got cheaper providers):
http://cgi.ebay.ca/M2-ATX-PSU-and-Vo...2em118Q2el1247
I'll have to think of somewhere where I'll put it :S

I don't know yet about the main board, probably something not TOO quick since some Core 2 DUO processors tends to heat up a little in such small casings. I'll get back to it later when I'll have chosen it.

I'll add also some OBD2 support via this little thing:
http://cgi.ebay.ca/OBD2-to-USB-Lapto...dZp1638Q2em122

The software that'll be running on WinXP will be either "RoadRunner" or "CentraFuse". Plus some little soft that I'll code with Visual Studio.

Ok now for the "fun" part, I'll list some of the functions I hope it's oing to support: