General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Hi From Colorado!

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2008, 06:41 PM
Hi From Colorado!

Hi everyone- just wanted to check in and say hi. I'm a proud owner of a brand new MR '08 Fit Sport MT- I bought it on June 11th.

Yeah, I already knew about the '09 model, but my previous car, an audi allroad 6MT, was due for another $3K in work, and frankly, I had had enough. (I was side-swiped a few years ago during a blizzard and the car, even though repaired, was never quite same since then). I'm a sales rep, and I drive on the road for a living in CO, NM, UT, and WY. That said, I average about 25k per year on my car. Yes, I'll miss the little things this winter like AWD, heated mirrors, seats, incredible speed, sunroofs, yada, yada...Things I don't miss? Premium fillups at $75 a pop, and still averaging 21mpg on a good day. Oh, yeah, and those pesky trips to fix the suspension every 8 months or so...

Anyhow, I've got just about 2k on the odo so far, and everything is great! $31 to fill up? Check. Lots of smiles as I pass people on the road? Check. Room to fit my doggie in the back but also Fit my bike in there, too? Check. I love the looks on my friends faces when I show them the interior and how much room there is- you can almost see the lightbulb turn on in their heads.

I'm totally happy with my purchase, regardless if some think of it as a downgrade from the audi. I think it's just plain smart! When I first moved out to CO many moons ago I drove a '91 Civic HB, and I took that thing nearly everywhere without getting stuck. This little Fit takes me back to those days, and it really is fun to drive!

For the really gnarly storms, I still have a built-up truck that I can use. But, I still plan on seeing how well this performs in the snow, at least around town.