General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Fit sport transmission

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2009, 04:49 PM
Fit sport transmission

Hi fellow fit people. I am new to this forum and am a new 2009 fit sport automatic owner. I just bought a new 2009 fit sport in metallic silver 2 weeks ago and I think I made a good choice. However, as I am just learning the features of my new car something unusual seems to occur.

Here is the scenario-- I am driving along at about 20 - 25m/h.
I come to a very big hill -so I take my foot off the gas.
As I travel down hill my car seems to downshift I think to 1st gear??? Thus my car does not pick up any speed as my other car would do which is what I want it to do because it goes down hill too slow..

I always drive with the transmission in normal (d) drive mode..

Is this normal and do I have to step on the gas to go faster or is there a tranmission/computer problem. Other than this the tranny seems to shift normally..

Any comments and/or similar experiences appreciated

unfit69

Old 10-13-2009, 05:15 PM
5 Year Member
My understanding is that the auto is a "grade logic" transmission. Here in Florida we don't have any hills or mountains, but I still find that the transmission still pulls the car down as soon as you step off the gas. I don't like that, my peference would be for it to "free wheel" unless I want it to downshift. You might try using "S" mode and see if it stays in 5th or 4th. Be aware that in S mode you need to use the paddle shifters or it will still function as a full automatic. hope that helps

Old 10-13-2009, 05:45 PM
5 Year Member
your car is fine.

first of all, you're not suppose to gas it on a downhill...and the reason the car downshifts is because it uses the engine to brake...engine braking...i drive a stick,and i downshift to slow down the car rather than applying the brakes since that will kill the brakes/ make it fade more quickly.