General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Offset?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2010, 03:58 PM
5 Year Member
Offset?

I know my fare share about cars but I am by no means a pro.. One thing I was wondering about is offset.. People are always talking about the offset they run with their rims.. What is offset and what is it good for? Also.. Spacers?? Outside of the forum I never really hear of spacers.. Any insight to bring me another step farther from noob-ness would be greatly appreciate and rep will be rewarded.

Old 01-04-2010, 04:54 PM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
check www.tirerack.com technical area. they explain wheel offset.

basically the smaller the positive offset number, the closer the wheels are pushed towards the inside of the fender.

stock wheels are +55 and wheels are tucked in the wheel well. if you run +40 like me, the wheels are more flush to the fender and looks good when lowered and have some benefits of a wider foot print (stance).

Old 01-04-2010, 05:14 PM
5 Year Member
Thank yousir.. I knew the spacers were for pushing the tires out I just didn't knew exactly what a normal spacer size was and such.. And I'll check out tirerack..

Old 01-04-2010, 05:18 PM
Super Moderator
Offset basically tells you where the wheel face sits with in the rim. 0 offset is center and +/- is forward or back from the center.

Old 01-04-2010, 05:38 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by MNfit
Offset basically tells you where the wheel face sits with in the rim. 0 offset is center and +/- is forward or back from the center.
Why would. You want the tire to sit more forward or backward on the rim?

Old 01-04-2010, 06:03 PM
Super Moderator
this pic might explain it better.

Old 01-06-2010, 12:37 AM
5 Year Member
i understand that it sits either closer to or further from the face of the rim but why would you want that?

Old 01-06-2010, 02:10 AM
Supervillain
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by drock305