General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

octane confusion..

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2013, 05:06 PM
octane confusion..

So ive been running 87 in my fit since I bought it 8 months ago. So this morning I filled my tank with 91 on accident. (Hit the wrong button.) From what I have read it doesn't make a difference in our cars but after approximately 100 miles can cruising around with the girlfriend I have gotten 6 or more mpg than I normally would have with just me in the car. Info coming from scangauge. I normally don't get more than about 24 mpg on my way to work. Today with full tank and the girl in the car I got 31 driving the same route. Is this something normal, my imagination, or something I should be concerned about. Maintenance for the last 10,000 miles is up to date and then some.

Old 04-13-2013, 09:53 PM
5 Year Member
There are lots of different explanations for this difference. You did not state where you are located so I'm not sure what fuel you really were getting before or did get on this fill up. Also you did not state how much gas you put in on this fill-up so we do not know what the old / new mix was on this newest load of fuel. The energy content of 87 and 91 octane "pure" gasoline is very similar. In some areas of the country 87 is mixed with ethanol and this results in less BTUs (energy) per gallon. Also in some states an exception was made to allow 91 octane to be 100 % real fuel while 87 and 89 were require to contain 10% ethanol.

Another possibility is you are at the closing days of the winter mix fuel season. Winter mix fuel usually contains less energy per gallon due to a higher content of cheaper butane. After May 1st the EPA dictates the vapor pressure on all fuel sold at retail for on road use for all parts of the country. This means the refiners are now starting to supply summer mixed fuel which contains more energy per gallon in order to meet the May 1st deadline.