General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

installing K&N air filter w/o the kit

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2017, 09:32 PM
5 Year Member
Question installing K&N air filter w/o the kit

I'm finally putting a K&N filter on my 2008 Fit Sport. I just bought the filter and figured I could DYI the retrofit with 3" drain pipe. when I got into it, it looks more complicated than I thought. Is there a thread for what I'm doing? I searched w/o success but i'm a newbie and don't know my way around.
My first problem is that I need to remove much of the air intake assembly to have room for the flex pipe to go over to the wheel well (for cold air). But there's what looks like a vacuum hose and a sensor that would be affected because it's all one piece. How much of the stock air apperatus can/do I need to remove? will it involve a hacksaw?
2nd, there doesn't seem to be enough room in the wheel well to accommodate the filter.

Also how do I find out if my Fit is 1st or 2nd generation?
I'm I asking too many questions?

Old 04-10-2017, 11:04 PM
5 Year Member
First off, hello and welcome.

Do you have images of the K&N setup that you have or a link to it so we can see what's potentially going on?

Removing the factory air box assembly isn't too hard. For some the battery may need to loosened to shift it for more room or be removed temporarily to get the air box assembly out.

If memory serves me right there are 2, possibly 3 bolts that are 10 mm to remove plus the either coupling that tightens the air box to the throttle body which is a 5.5mm I believe (I use a 7/32nds socket usually... haha). Disconnect the MAP sensor, disconnect the PCV tube from the air box (simple pliers to squeeze the clamp and slowly work the PCV tube out) and pop off the rubber flex tube running from the fender to the air box and then the assembly should be free.