Bad time to buy a Fit?

Old 06-27-2011, 11:20 AM
Bad time to buy a Fit?

Hi guys, forum newbie here. Its great to see a big Fit community in Vancouver and to see all the sweet rides!
I live in Vancouver and I'm looking to buy a new Fit Sport as soon as possible. I seek the forums advice for my purchase.
Haven't been dealership-hopping or making many calls yet but my nearest dealership had a few new Sport models in stock so I went to check them out. I was quoted over 23k OTD for a new 2011.
Apparently this is only a few hundred dollars over the dealers cost so there is no room for negotiation (per salesman).
Looking at how much this car is sold for in the US, it seems that we're paying roughly 3k - 4k more OTD.. which is surprising at this price!

Anyway, looking into the history of this forum I see that there have always been some kind of rebate or promotion going on for Fits - it doesn't seems like there are any deals at the moment, which I can understand, due to the current demand>supply situation with Japans ongoing situation.

What I would like to know is whether you guys think its better that I hold off my purchase for a few months (until the new shipments start coming in?) or if 23k (financing thru honda @ 4.9%) sounds like an OK deal.

I would consider buying a used vehicle but prefer to have my 5 years of powertrain warranty so I haven't really considered it. Maybe used is the best way to go in this current situation?

Anyway I'm just seeking your guys' opinions and advice.
Thank you in advance.

Old 06-27-2011, 08:03 PM
5 Year Member
welcome to the group
I bought mine when they have the special they took off $1800 of MSRP on the sport model.
I think there is only 2 special per year
one is the auto show back in April where they give you $888 off
and the other one is the end of the season special
but when they try to clear out the stock there are not too many color selection.
the 4.9% seems high, earlier the year, they had 2.9%