Other Car Related Discussions Discuss all other cars here.

2001 Honda Civic EX Auto vs. Fit??

Old 04-27-2006, 06:48 PM
2001 Honda Civic EX Auto vs. Fit??

Ever since the new Fit came out, I started to debating whether I should trade in my Civic for the Fit.

I'm a college student so I need a small car that gets pretty good gas mileage. (since all college students are quite poor ;))
I like to drive aggresively on twisty backroads, but I hate drag racing or any types of racing on city streets. Which means I like a car that can handle but don't really care about straight line speed. However, if Fit is slower than my auto Civic... hmm... that's kinda really slow and I don't think I'll like that.

My Civic is decent, but I absolutely hate this Automatic tranny, because I get no control over it.
Fit's automatic tranny seems a lot better than that old Auto tranny in my Civic, and I could get manual car if I want to (which I do).

I've read plenty of reviews... Car and Driver, Edmunds, and Temple of VTEC, and they all praise the car for it's sportiness, (in its class that is) and versatility.

I like the interior very much, and the stereo system is quite impressive.
My Civic's interior is quite plain... nothing extraordinary, but very comfortable I'd say.

I will go to the dealership to take a look at the Fit later, but wondering what you guys would say about this comparison.

Old 04-27-2006, 07:32 PM
June 2007 3rd Place Fit of the Month Winner
5 Year Member
I traded my modified 1999 Civic EX AT for a MT Sport Fit. I would say, if you don't mind the lost in horsepower I'd do it. The Fit does load a lot of fun stuff, but nothing to really hoot and holler for. I got my Fit mainly, because I love hatchbacks and better gas mileage. It can be a good family car, or a modified machine. The choice is yours. They're both good cars.

Old 04-28-2006, 12:30 AM
Someone that Posts too much