Other Car Related Discussions Discuss all other cars here.

Fit v M3, Z06, Cayman S, etc

Old 09-20-2006, 10:32 PM
Fit v M3, Z06, Cayman S, etc

You may think what an absurd comparison, but just read on . . .

This past weekend I participated in a BMW High Performance Driving School with my AT Fit (with paddle shifters). I was a rank beginner, and the only car among the other 24 beginners that had an AT. the course was @ VIR, 3+ mile road course. Most of the cars out on the course with me were M3's. there was one Z06, one Cayman, etc.

To get to the point, I was amazed at the performance of the Fit. Hardly any cars could keep up with me thru hard corners, esses, etc. Of course, on the straights they roared by me. but my instructor (who sat next to me in the car on every lap) continually said such things as, "Look, they passed you on the straight and you caught them in the turns." Or, "that guy paid 5x the money for his car and he can't leave you." Many a time a M3 would be on my tail at the beginning of a series of turns, and when I exited the last turn I could not see the car.

The instructor really like the car, was surprised at the quality of the brakes, and said the Fit has a good dynamic chassis. (He races BMW 2002s) My instructor said the Fit was a much better car to learn high performance driving in than others on the track, because the other cars had such items as Stability Management, Traction Control, etc. so that the drivers could not really feel what their car was doing. Not so with the Fit.
I even had another instructor come up to me during a break and comment on how fast the Fit was on the course.