1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

AC Condenser Fan Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2016, 12:28 AM
5 Year Member
AC Condenser Fan Replacement

I'm not a mechanic... but my 08 Fit's AC works great while moving. If you get stuck in traffic for 5-10 minutes, then it goes completely warm. You can turn it off for a few minutes (to thaw out) and it will work fine again. AC coolant is in the good range with my AutoZone guage. I also notice the condenser fan is very loud when AC is on. So I bought a TYC fan on eBay for $35. Does anyone have a write-up or any tips for replacing the fan? And do you even think it is the fan? Thanks

Last edited by kakrohn; 06-30-2016 at 12:29 AM. Reason: edited
Old 06-30-2016, 10:21 AM
5 Year Member
from your description, it is either

1) ac compressor/clutch not engaging correctly

2) condenser fan

3) freon level (those gauges from part stores does not tell the whole story btw)

Old 06-30-2016, 04:10 PM
5 Year Member
Fan noise has nothing to do with poor cooling. The low side should have 25 PSI with blower on high (4) and engine on 1500 rpm. On idle speed the low side gage reads HIGHER than on 1500 rpms!!
While new fan will not makeup for lost refrigerant, it may reduce noise; the driver's fan should come out first then condenser fan is pushed to the driver side and removed

Old 06-30-2016, 05:25 PM
5 Year Member
Hardest part is getting the electrical connectors disconnected so you can move the fans the rest is easy.

Old 07-01-2016, 12:34 PM
anyone know the labor guide for re and re an a/c compressor on the GD1 fit?

Old 07-01-2016, 07:27 PM
5 Year Member
Check the price of compressor and dryer on your favorite auto parts page, then add about 300 in labor + a couple pounds of R134.

They usually replace the dryer when they do the compressor.

Time involved is:
Pump out system, about an hour.
Change pump and dryer about 45 minutes.