1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Jerky acceleration, 2k+ rpm, especially up hills

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2017, 09:22 PM
Jerky acceleration, 2k+ rpm, especially up hills

Hi everyone: new to the forum and new to the Fit! It's a 2008 with 104k km on her. And we have been very happy with it except for the crazy water leak we discovered, pooling in the spare tire well, and now with this noticeable stumble and jerk on acceleration. I am a strictly backyard mechanic with basic skills and a few tricks learned from good neighbors and friends over the years: onexperienced but I have no problem digging in there!

i have read around on this and other forums, and suspected maybe the classic cool pack issue that seems to pop up lots... Today I inspected the plugs: they seem ok (I'll try and link a photo). Doesn't rule out the packs I just thought I would have a look and make sure the plugs weren't totally rallied. Air filter is fairly clear and clean. No check engine lights, and I checked the OBD and found no codes. Before searching and finding out about the common coil problem my first thought was a fuel issue, as it felt like it was not getting enough fuel then getting a spurt and jerking forward. I am thinking some injector cleaner... And fuel filter is in-tank on these, correct?
I am wondering if there is anything else I am missing that I should rule out before I look at buying a coil pack and trying it in all the cylinders. I would rather work from the potential small stuff up to the bigger things!
thanks in advance. Forums and YouTube are the best tool out there!

Last edited by FitsnJeeps; 05-07-2017 at 09:23 PM. Reason: Cut off
Old 05-07-2017, 09:56 PM
5 Year Member