Vash's Sprintex Install log - Unofficial Honda FIT Forums


2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum Threads discussing engine mods/swaps/tuning for the 2nd generation GE8 Honda Fit.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-03-2018, 02:05 PM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Vash's Sprintex Install log

Just making a thread for myself to keep a log on my perhaps lengthy install.

Starting install around 91,000k miles

Parts list so far as of 04/03/2018:



I saw someone on the form add a coupler at this contact point, so I decided to copy them:







Hopefully will continue the install this weekend

Last edited by Vash; 04-03-2018 at 03:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2018, 03:20 PM
bosho.777's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 29
Lookin' forward to seeing your completed install and reading about your results. I still wish us 3rd gen owners had this option, but . . . oh, well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2018, 12:42 PM
jonnyss's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 45
Good start man. It will fly together once you start in earnest. I did it in one session in about 5 hours.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2018, 12:06 AM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994






taking apart this plastic from the wiring harness was actually hard!



Going to zip tie harness to the fuel rail tomorrow, didn't see this part coming



so the stickers aren't pealing all of the way off.... and i have no razer blades around, going to stop by the store to pick some up and continue my install
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2018, 12:36 AM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Oh we are done ladys!! it actually cranks up without a tune, I am surprised. Going to get a base tune tomorrow from the a tuner to hopefully drive it around soon, and then make it to the tuner's shop to get a DYNO tune.








Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2018, 01:33 AM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 3,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vash View Post
it actually cranks up without a tune, I am surprised.
Yup, at low RPM/low TPS (ie, lightly pressing the "throttle" pedal), it's a glorified intake manifold because there's no boost.

At higher RPM/high TPS, that's when boost comes on, but it's still within the range the factory ECU handles... as is the case with my Fit (no piggyback, just factory ECU).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2018, 06:46 AM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goobers View Post
Yup, at low RPM/low TPS (ie, lightly pressing the "throttle" pedal), it's a glorified intake manifold because there's no boost.

At higher RPM/high TPS, that's when boost comes on, but it's still within the range the factory ECU handles... as is the case with my Fit (no piggyback, just factory ECU).
Oh cool. So does that mean iam free to drive this thing?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2018, 08:06 PM
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Allen,TX
Posts: 47
If you have no tune for it whatsoever, I believe your car will run too lean and it's going to be in limp mode, guaranteed... If I were you I wouldn't even crank that thing without ECU management.

Last edited by ommegga; 04-10-2018 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2018, 12:08 AM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
2 more pics. Still haven't driven the car yet, working with the tuner, but none of the tunes he is giving me is flashing.. i keep getting this error message:






Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2018, 03:46 AM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 3,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommegga View Post
If you have no tune for it whatsoever, I believe your car will run too lean and it's going to be in limp mode, guaranteed... If I were you I wouldn't even crank that thing without ECU management.
Guaranteed, eh?

The last time my Fit triggered limp mode was over 3 years ago (probably over 60k miles ago)... when I still had the piggyback unit installed. I could for all practical purposes, trigger it on command.

It hasn't since, even when I repeat the conditions that triggered it before removing the piggyback (in addition to swapping the fuel pump).

And just for clarification, in case you were wondering, I put my Fit through its paces whenever I drive. From neighborhood cruising at 35 mph @2k rpm, to passing people on the highway at 80 mph and 6k rpm to redline range.

Additionally, at crank, too low rpm and/or practically closed throttle, there's no way the twin screws can generate enough pressure to cause the vacuum pump to close the bypass valve. And until that closes, there's no "boost" whatsoever going into the engine. At best, there's some wonky air currents, but mostly as if there was no supercharger installed. Like I said, a glorified intake manifold.

Gary from Sprintex, USA (look for post from the user name "SprintexUSA") has, himself, stated that the piggyback unit was originally only set up to trigger the 5th injector under boost, while most of the tuning map's range is OUT of boost.

So, your guarantee amounts to being worthless.

On a tangent, you claimed:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ommegga View Post
So I forked up the necessary funds for Sprintex kit and I am wondering what is fair price for the installation?

I would do it myself its just that I don't have place.
We have plenty of performance shops here in Dallas so that won't be an issue. I just don't wanna get F#@ked in the ass without lube for some simple bolt-on supercharger installation.
And yet, there hasn't been a single peep about actually receiving it or having installed it. Nothing, other than this or that warning.

~~~~~

Back on topic...

~~~~~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vash View Post
2 more pics. Still haven't driven the car yet, working with the tuner, but none of the tunes he is giving me is flashing.. i keep getting this error message:

Let's start with... clearly, I have no experience with ktuner or pretty much any tuning software (aside from when toying with the SMT8-L/LetRIPP maps).

That said, can you download anything FROM the Fit? Try to see if you can get a full map from the Fit and then see if you can simply flash that map back to the Fit. If you can, then compare what you got from the car verses what you got from the tuner.

There might be a filename or some other "ID" that you could swap out. But there's also the possibility the tune is for another car and if it were uploaded, do something "unpleasant" to the Fit.

Alternatively, if you can download a "basemap" from the Fit, it might be worthwhile to make a copy of that map, do some gradual adjustments and upload that on your own until it gets to the performance you want... which I find probably requires lengthy road testing and/or dyno time.

Last edited by Goobers; 04-10-2018 at 03:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-10-2018, 05:22 AM
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Allen,TX
Posts: 47
So you're running supercharger without tune or piggyback? You shouldn't be giving advice to people who are trying to have properly running boosted car.

Ktuner or piggyback is a must.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-10-2018, 05:29 AM
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Allen,TX
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goobers View Post

On a tangent, you claimed:



And yet, there hasn't been a single peep about actually receiving it or having installed it. Nothing, other than this or that warning.

.
I cancelled the order and went with 91 octane tune on Ktuner + Spoon TB and ik22s plugs. Stop going off topic. You're obviously butt hurt because I called you out.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2018, 07:06 AM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goobers View Post
can you download anything FROM the Fit? Try to see if you can get a full map from the Fit and then see if you can simply flash that map back to the Fit. If you can, then compare what you got from the car verses what you got from the tuner.

There might be a filename or some other "ID" that you could swap out. But there's also the possibility the tune is for another car and if it were uploaded, do something "unpleasant" to the Fit.

Alternatively, if you can download a "basemap" from the Fit, it might be worthwhile to make a copy of that map, do some gradual adjustments and upload that on your own until it gets to the performance you want... which I find probably requires lengthy road testing and/or dyno time.
Only with a "dealer's" license you can see everything..... I think I just need the feature "Injector sizing" and I will be in the game.....

I am emailing back and forth with Ktuner now actually... hopefully they can throw in the feature really quick. They did it before for other users for our cars, hopefully its something they can add easily. Cross your fingers boys!!! the install is too beautiful for me to go backwards now.

Good news is.. it has no problems Flashing or changing around numbers... its just that the Ktuner software currently doesn't have the "Injector sizing" option for my specific ECU.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-11-2018, 08:44 AM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 3,768
heads up to Vash, you might want to skip further down the post...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ommegga View Post
I cancelled the order and went with 91 octane tune on Ktuner + Spoon TB and ik22s plugs. Stop going off topic. You're obviously butt hurt because I called you out.
???

Called me out on what exactly?

That I'm not using a piggyback or reflashed tune? I've said that a number of times since the day I took the piggyback out three years ago. Nothing new there.

I was also in contact with a person that worked at the USA branch of the makers of the supercharger itself during that time I was diagnosing and ultimately removed the unit.

If anything, the only person being called out was you. Only NOW, did you mention that you cancelled your supercharger order.

If I'm in no position to be giving advice, what does that make you? Who doesn't even have the supercharger? Do you at least have any experience on forced induction at all? It probably doesn't matter, even an amateur like me knows, not every turbo/super-charger setup is the same.

Don't know if this means anything to you...
Quote:
Originally Posted by SprintexUSA View Post
Take out the SMT unit and reconnect your wiring as it was stock.

We set up that SMT map to go onto a stock vehicle with the blower. It's a separate box entirely. The factory ECU should never know it's there.

You could technically leave it installed and zero out all of the maps. It would then run "like stock". The signals would go through the ECU but nothing would happen to them. That probably sounds really confusing, though.
Or maybe this one...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SprintexUSA View Post
A 5th injector vs. 4 larger injectors essentially do the same thing---provide a larger orifice or opening for fuelling. From the fuel pump's perspective, a 5th injector or 4 bigger ones look the same. We aren't increasing fuel pressure, but providing an opportunity for more flow. Both fuelling options do the same thing.

I don't really know if the stock pump has issues with providing volume, pressure, or both. Considering the lower power level of these cars as stock, a 40% increase in power would be more taxing on a smaller pump no matter what. It doesn't matter if you have a supercharger, turbo, nitrous, or an elephant blowing into the intake tube. More air needs more fuel. WHEN we're providing the air is what I'm currently working with on our shop vehicle. It's not too taxing on the pump to provide a little more fuel on the low end. Guys with more airflow mods are running out of pump up top.

I have seen differences in charge air temperature wet vs. dry. Wet is usually 50F cooler. I was able to run midgrade gas on a boosteed Jeep XJ with its extra 550cc LS1 injector. When was the last time you heard "supercharger" and "midgrade gas" in the same sentence without "explosion"? An extra injector definitely has cooling benefits, but also drawbacks. Tuning is the chief challenge--the stock ECU needs the same fuel curves to run within spec, and getting the fuel curve right from the extra injector is indeed tricky. You get good atomization through the blower, but distribution among the cylinders can be problematic on larger engines. This particular combo likes it and that's what matters. Something else to consider is the low-end fuelling with an extra injector. The Sprintex unit has internal compression of about 1.4:1. If you spray too much fuel through the blower at too low of an rpm, then it can hydrolock the unit. That's why we set it up to only add fuel under boost or as manifold pressure transitions into boost.

I'm going a different route with working on a setup that is "as stock as possible". Our blower makes a couple of pounds of boost on the low end according to the SMT datalogs. Where the 5spd auto likes to "putt" is where I've been working on the mapping. Under vacuum, I left Jay's tuning alone. However, I'm trying to take advantage of the slight intake pressure at low rpm. From 1500-2200rpm in 5th is where it likes to cruise in traffic, locked up in gear and happily putting along. It will still see boost before it downshifts. Right there is where I'm adding just a little trickle of fuel and taking out a couple of degrees of timing.

Power up top is nice, but I need to clean up the middle a little more around 4,000rpm before vtec kicks in. So far, so good.

I see why you guys are so fanatical about these cars. They're fun to horse around with and really aren't scary at all. I want our particular combo to feel like an engine swap. 6psi is 40% more air over atmospheric. Thusly, the engine should feel 40% bigger---or about 2.1 liters instead of 1500. 8psi (without the restrictor) is 54% more air. That should feel more like a 2.3L. As you can see, we are not shooting for the moon.
a snippet from the above...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SprintexUSA View Post
The Sprintex unit has internal compression of about 1.4:1. If you spray too much fuel through the blower at too low of an rpm, then it can hydrolock the unit. That's why we set it up to only add fuel under boost or as manifold pressure transitions into boost.
Again, what have you called me out on? I'm probably butt hurt about plenty of things, but since I have no idea what you think you're calling me out on, this can't be one of those things.

So yeah, keep talking. I'll make sure not to listen to you anymore.

~~~~~

@Vash, sorry about this useless off track railroading.

Hum, speaking of injector sizing, I recall that option in the AEM software... kinda makes me want to re-install the fic6.

I was also thinking, if the fic6 has the option for injector sizing back in 2014 for the Fit, why wouldn't ktuner 4 years later. Then, I realized, ktuner probably has to deal with register locations in the ECU, while the fic6 intercepts the signal in the wiring harness. The wire harness being common across all Fits makes it easier, but register location in ECU probably won't be common which makes it tedious to track down and then confirm is the same across the specific ECU with that part number.

I kinda wished ktuner's website was a bit more informative/up-to-date(?). The only thing the "feature matrix" shows being different for dealer vs end user, is the real time tuning.

What I want to know from their site, is whether or not ktunerflash V2 touch, with its fancy touchscreen, can show injector duty cycle as one of its gauges. I know from your post that the software can show "duty cycle" (injector? please let it be injector!). I'm almost willing to buy it just for that. Its the one thing I want right now, that the Ultragauge isn't giving.

The main reason I've been contemplating getting it, it plugs into the OBD and doesn't require anything through the firewall if I want to do standalone logging or while plugged into a laptop. The AEM fic6 requires connecting to the ECU itself... while the laptop will most likely sit on the other side of the firewall, in the cabin.

I would've asked you if it had that feature, but then I remember you got V1.2 because V2 wasn't in stock.

If the V2 unit can display pretty much anything the Ultragauge can, then I just might buy it (if anyone has it in stock)... but having seen the stock injectors spike to 101% (albeit rarely), any extra fueling won't be possible without new injectors. So the RDX injectors will have to combo with the Ktunerflash.

Yuk, more $$$... maybe I'll save my pennies for a little bit longer.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-11-2018, 08:39 PM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyss View Post
Good start man. It will fly together once you start in earnest. I did it in one session in about 5 hours.
Another update! Jonnyss has been helping me diagnosis the issue and how to freaken use this Ktuner. It looks like 3rd injector is dead.

a very unreasonable amount of knock and misfire in a short time, coming from Cylinder 3.

Going to pull off the supercharger tomorrow and check out the wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-12-2018, 12:26 AM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 3,768
Ouch. That's not cool.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-13-2018, 12:00 AM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Ok got the injector working, but now planning it out with the tuner... support for my ECU looks like it might not work... possible I may have to swap ECU's.... =(
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-13-2018, 10:35 PM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 3,768
Question for ya, will you be taking post blower MAP readings?

As Iíve said, Iím an amateur, so I was wondering if those readings would be needed for tuning with KTuner.

In Stevenís install thread there was mention of moving the factory MAP to the lower manifold where another sensor was connected, but they had some issues that I donít know if they were solved. In addition, I canít really tell from your pictures if you have that connector.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-13-2018, 10:43 PM
Vash's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goobers View Post
Question for ya, will you be taking post blower MAP readings?

As I’ve said, I’m an amateur, so I was wondering if those readings would be needed for tuning with KTuner.

In Steven’s install thread there was mention of moving the factory MAP to the lower manifold where another sensor was connected, but they had some issues that I don’t know if they were solved. In addition, I can’t really tell from your pictures if you have that connector.
BIG thanks to JONNYSS!!!! without him i wouldn't have gotten this thing up and running so quickly!! I owe him so damn much... hopefully karma will come back you soon man!!! I will try and pass on the kindness as well once i get more seasoned!

I am up and running right now! going to work with the tuner. I'll post results and experience when everything is all said and done.

Man this thing sounds crazy!!!!! i came close to going to the stock injectors and SMT8, but I am so glad i stuck with the acura RDX turbo injectors!! can't wait to start doing hard pulls on this thing.. i can already feel and hear the crazyiness about to happen... but I been STRONG and refraining from throwing the pedal all the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-14-2018, 07:18 AM
jonnyss's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 45
Glad youíre up and running Vash. It was my pleasure to assist. Several users helped me in the past and Iím a true believer in passing it along. Go get that thing buttoned up tune wise and enjoy
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sprintex Supercharger Install Steven Hung 2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum 1260 04-15-2018 06:45 PM
Vash's Supercharger buy list - Estimated costs planning Vash 2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 3 02-03-2018 03:16 PM
Fit4Spl Stereo Install Log Fit4Spl 2nd Generation GE8 Specific Fit I.C.E. Sub-Forum 191 12-30-2016 04:20 AM
sprintex supercharger install.. need plugs anyone?! kustomimports 2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum 7 11-11-2014 06:22 PM
DIY Headunit,Amp,Subwoofer guide by Vash **Lots of Pics** Vash 2nd Generation GE8 Specific Fit I.C.E. Sub-Forum 38 07-14-2013 11:40 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.