2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Service Intervals?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2008, 06:46 AM
5 Year Member
Service Intervals?

Does anyone know where I can find the service intervals for the 2009 Fit. I looked it up in the owner's manual and it directs me to page 245. Page 245 contains information about the Maintenance Minder. I'd prefer to see something like:

At the 5,000 mile service, change the oil, check tightness of bolts, inspect brakes, blah blah blah.

I really want to know when I should take it in for the first check-up and inspection. I am new to Honda, so maybe they don't ever show it this way. Thoughts?

Old 10-02-2008, 04:11 PM
5 Year Member
My Fit hasn't arrived yet , but if the maintenance minder works like the one in my Ridgeline, it will not show codes for other maintenance that is needed until the oil life display drops to 15% or below. There is no fixed mileage-based maintenance schedule in the manual. I prefer to change my oil and filter at 5000 mile intervals because it's just easier to keep track of it that way. Problem is, at 5000 miles, the oil life is still around 40% so the other codes (if any) don't show up. So, I don't reset the oil life when I change the oil, and just let it continue to go down to 15%, at which time the other codes show up, like "1" (for tire rotation) or "2" (for air filter replacement), etc. Works for me

Old 10-05-2008, 03:04 PM
5 Year Member
It is supposed to come with a second manual for service. If they didn't give it to you call your dealer.

Old 11-28-2008, 01:35 PM
Originally Posted by MPGASAP
It is supposed to come with a second manual for service. If they didn't give it to you call your dealer.
You sure about that? The service schedule in the manual is totally predicated on the maintenance minder, which appears to be totally decoupled from mileage.

I'd be happy if I could just find the order in which the different services appear.

Old 11-28-2008, 01:39 PM