2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

trailer wiring

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2012, 03:42 PM
5 Year Member
trailer wiring

Hi, Everybody,

Newbie here.

I just got a new 2012 Base Fit and am thinking about adding a Class 1 trailer hitch to tow a motorcycle trailer. I've found several hitches that will work, but before I commit, has anyone added a trailer-wiring harness to their Fit?

GaryK

Old 08-30-2012, 04:57 PM
Banned
Originally Posted by gkarasik
Hi, Everybody,

Newbie here.

I just got a new 2012 Base Fit and am thinking about adding a Class 1 trailer hitch to tow a motorcycle trailer. I've found several hitches that will work, but before I commit, has anyone added a trailer-wiring harness to their Fit?

GaryK
I added the wiring to my GD3, but since I use the hitch for other things besides a trailer, I have not bothered to wire up my GE8. I have the kit, just have not installed it. Wiring kits are inexpensive and easy to install. But watch out for "Fit compatible" wiring kits being sold on Ebaymotors. One kit that I bought there absolutely did not fit properly. Etrailer.com has great prices on hitches and wiring kits that really do work as advertised.

Old 08-30-2012, 05:09 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Triskelion
I added the wiring to my GD3, but since I use the hitch for other things besides a trailer, I have not bothered to wire up my GE8. I have the kit, just have not installed it. Wiring kits are inexpensive and easy to install. But watch out for "Fit compatible" wiring kits being sold on Ebaymotors. One kit that I bought there absolutely did not fit properly. Etrailer.com has great prices on hitches and wiring kits that really do work as advertised.
Thanks. I've seen the eTrailer options and will probably go that way. I'm wondering if I can install the wiring kit myself. I have very few mechanical skills.

GaryK

Old 08-30-2012, 05:49 PM
5 Year Member