2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

(potential) new fit owner here

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2013, 12:07 PM
(potential) new fit owner here

hey everyone.. first of all, i'm new to this, so i'm sorry if i posted this question in the wrong area..

i'm in the market for a new (used) car, and i absolutely fell in love with the honda fit. i'm looking at purchasing a 2010 base model (automatic) with a little over 18k miles, but wanted to do some research and talk to some other fit owners first.

i came across some info on the recall affecting the engine springs in the '09-'10 models.. my current car is a 2001 subaru outback limited, and i'm just coming out of a really frustrating experience involving a recall on the vehicle that absolutely did NOT address, let alone fix, the actual problem.. so i'm hoping to get some feedback about this fit recall, as i don't know a whole lot about car repair, but i do know that i don't want to mess around with engine problems, ha.

so, here's my question.. for any fit owners out there that were affected by this recall, did honda actually FIX the problem with the engine springs? have you had any problems since? were you happy with the work done? any other problems i should look out for around 18k miles? i'm 90% sold on buying the car, just wanted to get some feedback from you guys.

thanks in advance for any helpful tips you can offer!

Old 09-14-2013, 12:33 PM
5 Year Member
I can't speak to the recall, because mine ('10 sport) wasn't affected. But, there are some other things I'd like you to know about the '10 Fit.

A few pros, to get started:

* Great gas mileage
* I find it to be an exceptionally comfortable car, and my wife, who is a bigger girl, seems to agree. I'm average height (this is important, because some of the taller people here find the car uncomfortable)