2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

2013 FIT paint chips & rust

Old 07-05-2015, 10:54 PM
2013 FIT paint chips & rust

Hey guys, I've been a member for quite some time but it's my first time posting.

So I bought my fit in march last year. It's a 2013 model and it was brand new. Never had a problem until this spring and it is now at 25k kilometers.

About a month ago, I noticed a lot of paint chips on the hood. I was pissed but could accept it was my fault since I don't have a plastic nor a deflector and I do a lot of highway so I assumed that it happened once in the spring that I was following a truck and received lots of rock and the chips came from there.

I tried fixing them with touch up paint but the result was very bad. In the end I just stopped using the paint and just applied paint sealers on the chip. After about 2 weeks, the paint sealer changed color (now looks like grey dirt) so I made hood is looking very bad. But well, I still accepted it since it was my fault.

Yesterday I noticed 2 scratches on my rear bumper. They are real scratches and the bumper is off. I think it was hit by bike.

So I inspected the whole car and....there are micro rust spots everywhere on the body. And on the hood, I also noticed micro chips (which I think are just getting bigger over time...).

After googling it... I found out that Canadian FITs were actually made in China and not in Japan. There I was pissed. The dealer pitch against Nissan's Versa basically is that the car is made in Japan. As the stickers on the car are written in English, French and Japanese, I never even questioned it... but yeah the serial number starts with LUC... so it's Chinese made.

I'm kinda pissed now and I'll have to see a dealer with this this week. I could understand that they don't take responsibility for the chips, but the rust spots!!? There's a 3 year warranty on body rust, hope it won't be difficult to get it.