2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Really Mysterious Behavior on my 2009 Fit

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2016, 08:48 AM
Cool Really Mysterious Behavior on my 2009 Fit

Hey all, new to this awesome group.

So, I have a 2009 Fit Sport Automatic with about 90k miles on it. It's been working fine until recently. If I drive it for any long distance at highway speeds, eventually the check engine light starts flashing and I have to slow down as the car locks me into 1st gear. If I leave it for about 10 min or so, I can start it up again and no problem.

I went to a trusted mechanic and he said it might be a low voltage issue from the alternator (when I drive, I have several accessories plugged in (I'm an Uber Driver) as well as A/C and stereo). He said when this happens, try the windshield wipers on max and see if they are moving normally or slowly. They move slowly.

So, I replaced the alternator. The battery is brand new as well. I thought all was well, but the problem came back last night and I am positively stumped.

Mechanics have said that there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the transmission, and the catalytic converter seems okay as well.

Any thoughts from the community would be extremely welcome. Thanks!

Old 03-26-2016, 12:21 PM
5 Year Member
A flashing check engine light means there is a misfire. Did the "mechanic" even scan for codes? I would pull the plugs to see what they look like.

You need a new mechanic too.

Old 03-26-2016, 12:26 PM
Unfortunately the codes didn't reveal anything anything telling. I'll be bringing it in on Monday to see what else they think could be causing the problem, but wouldn't it be odd to only get misfires after an hour of driving? And that stopping the car for a few minutes would correct the misfire?

Old 03-26-2016, 01:15 PM
5 Year Member
If the original coil packs are still in there I would suspect those since they are a known weak spot on the fit.