3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Doing my brakes

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2018, 09:50 PM
5 Year Member
Doing my brakes

Ok, I hate to admit it, but I have never done my own brakes. I need to do the fronts including rotors. I am not a complete mechanical newbie at all and I am positive I can do it. Having said that is there a good video of a 3rd gen fit you all have found?

Old 09-14-2018, 12:50 PM
5 Year Member
If you can find a video of a Civic or similar car you will be good. Takes a few hours and just need basic hand tools. 1/2 drive is recommended to get some of the bolts off. Also an impact screw driver for the rotor screws that never come out.

Old 09-14-2018, 01:30 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by GolNat
If you can find a video of a Civic or similar car you will be good. Takes a few hours and just need basic hand tools. 1/2 drive is recommended to get some of the bolts off. Also an impact screw driver for the rotor screws that never come out.
Originally Posted by stephenmarklay
Ok, I hate to admit it, but I have never done my own brakes. I need to do the fronts including rotors. I am not a complete mechanical newbie at all and I am positive I can do it. Having said that is there a good video of a 3rd gen fit you all have found?
Question, do you actually need to do the rotors? Those usually last through two brake pads (or more), assuming there isn't some nasty grooves are other defect forming.

That said, another question is... do you really need a video? Answer this after reading the rest.