Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

2008 Sport Automatic Stalling issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2014, 01:05 PM
2008 Sport Automatic Stalling issues

Hi All,
I'm a complete newbie, so feel free to enlighten my ignorance.

Back story: Last summer my 1995 Toyota Corolla LE began having engine problems at a little over 200K. Due to parental pressure and the fact I drive about 300 miles a week on highway, I purchased a 2008 automatic Fit Sport with 140K. For the first six months, it worked beautifully, although I noticed the mpg was lower than when I purchased it. In December, I had the standard oil change and got a new battery installed because the old one was weak. That's when the issues began. It acted like it was going to stall on a couple occasions, and then on a 750 mile trip, I tracked my mileage and noticed a sharp decline in the mpg. One tank had 26mpg, while others had 29 - 31mpg (down from at least 35mpg).

On my return, I hit a large piece of road debris. It messed up the bumper and had to be repaired. When I picked up the car, other than the shop neglecting to plug in the air intake sensor cable and not having the front spoiler attached correctly, everything thing seemed fine. (I'm not going back there again - if they can't fix the obvious, there's no telling what they did inside.)

Anyway, immediately after, I began having constant stalling issues. Research tells me I'm not the only one. It's the standard problem - The car runs rough at first start, then tries to die at the first or second stop. If it dies, it starts back up immediately. Keeping my foot on the brake and revving the engine seems to help it not die. Once the engine warms up, it's fine. But the MPG is still not good.

First I ran a bottle of Techron through it. It helped a little, but not enough to stop the dying.