Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Cold Air Intake system?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 04:39 PM
Cold Air Intake system?!?!

Ok, I apologize for being a complete noob. But with that said...

I want more hp for my fit without losing a noticable amount of mpg. I was looking at cold air intakes and they seem alright. Then I found a short ram intake, and even a carbon intake. Will someone please tell me the differences between these? Mainly prices, dificulty of installment, mpg loses, and what not.

ps - just installed floor well lights..pics up soon.

Old 04-08-2008, 04:51 PM
5 Year Member
well....

i like the cold air because it gives more mid range power.
short rams are normally for those who want a better throttle resonse and top end power.

and the carbon fiber intakes are usually the power chamber intakes, correct me if im wrong, better throttle response and mid range power.

i just went with the cold air because it it doesnt give me that whistle sound when im at a certain throttle spot like the short ram gives.

oh....i get better gas mileage with my intake then when im running my car stock.
its a noticeable gain too.

Old 04-08-2008, 04:55 PM
What about hydrolocking? I live in Oklahoma City and we get a decent amount of rain. If I do get a CAI should I but a bypass on it?

So, the CAI is more for the city driver?

Old 04-08-2008, 05:36 PM
5 Year Member
some say a cai with a bypass is pretty much the same as a sri

Old 04-08-2008, 05:46 PM
Originally Posted by Sam Misled
What about hydrolocking? I live in Oklahoma City and we get a decent amount of rain. If I do get a CAI should I but a bypass on it?

So, the CAI is more for the city driver?
I live in Wichita, Kansas, so I know how the weather is.