Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

P2227: can't pass smog

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010, 11:14 PM
5 Year Member
P2227: can't pass smog

I've been throwing a code P2227 for a couple of months now, after the turbo install (AEM F/IC). I can't pass smog and I can't figure out why or how to get rid of it. Does anyone have any advice as how I can manage to pass smog?

Old 05-15-2010, 11:44 PM
P2227 references a barometer sensor - buried in the ECM, I believe. Testing and diagnosing it doesn't involve much more than checking for loose connections and then swapping in a known good ECM. An AEM support forum is probably going to be your best bet for help, assuming you've double checked your F/IC wiring.

On a sidenote, I'm continually amazed at the number of people who spend thousands and thousands of dollars make drastic alterations to their car, yet haven't made the $75 investment in a service manual.

Old 05-17-2010, 09:10 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by k-alt
I've been throwing a code P2227 for a couple of months now, after the turbo install (AEM F/IC). I can't pass smog and I can't figure out why or how to get rid of it. Does anyone have any advice as how I can manage to pass smog?
did you clamp the map sensor voltage when you set up the fic?
i have a turbo w/ the fic on my car. not a problem with any CEL since installed (about 3k miles)

Originally Posted by Daemione
On a sidenote, I'm continually amazed at the number of people who spend thousands and thousands of dollars make drastic alterations to their car, yet haven't made the $75 investment in a service manual.
because a OEM service manual isnt gonna tell you how your aftermarket mods are effecting your car.

Old 05-17-2010, 09:47 AM
5 Year Member
At first, I didn't even know the clamp voltage. What is your voltage clamped at?

Old 05-17-2010, 09:59 AM
5 Year Member
2.95v

10 char....

Old 05-30-2010, 01:48 AM
5 Year Member